BURNING PERMITS MUST BE OBTAINED THROUGH THE SELECTMEN'S OFFICE AT THE TOWN HALL
Application for Burning may be downloaded from Town of Roxbury website or filled out in the First Selectman’s Office and signed by the applicant. Approval will only be given when presented in person and signed by the local Open Burning Official.
The Connecticut General Statutes in Section 22a-174 and the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies (Dept of Environmental Protection) require the following general conditions.
- The Forest Fire Danger Level must not be high, very high or extreme as found HERE.
- The Air Quality Index (AQI) prediction must be 75 or lower everywhere in the State, that prediction can be found HERE in the table entitled "Predicted Daily AQI Maxiumums for Month/Day/Year".
- ONLY BRUSH, 3" or less in diameter may be burned. (No Leaves, Stumps, Trash Etc.)
- The permittee/applicant must reside on the property where burning is to take place.
- Burning must cease when directed by the Fire Marshal , Fire Chief or their designees, the Open Burning Official or upon order of any official of the Connecticut DEEP.
- Burning should be complete and attempts to reduce excessive smoke should be taken.
- Safety precautions must be taken. The area around the burning site/pile must be cleared to prevent fire spread, wetting down the surrounding area may be required, and a water hose must be on site for purposes of control.
- The permit must be immediately available at the site during burning.
- Burning may only be conducted between 10am and 5pm on a sunny or partly sunny day when the wind speed is between 5 and 15 mph.
PLEASE READ YOUR PERMIT
Violations of conditions of Open Burning Permits or burning without a permit will subject to the permittee or person burning to revocation of issued permits, forfeiture of the ability to obtain future permits and/or arrest for violation of Connecticut General Statute 23-48 (as amended by PA 01-150), which could result in fine up to $200 and/or up to 6 months imprisonment.